In Stock

Turning Point by Paula Chase (Hardcover, 2020) Ballet School Drama Novel Fiction

$24.95

3 in stock

SKU: V3-QITC-G2II Categories: , , ,

Description

Turning Point 
by Paula Chase
Hardcover – 2 December 2020
When being yourself isn’t good enough, who should you be?
Told in dual perspectives, this provocative and timely novel for middle-school readers by Paula Chase, the acclaimed author of So Done and Dough Boys, will resonate with fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Renée Watson.
Best friends Rasheeda and Monique are both good girls. For Sheeda, that means keeping her friends close and following her deeply religious and strict aunt’s every rule. For Mo, that means not making waves in the prestigious and mostly White ballet intensive she’s been accepted to.
But what happens when Sheeda catches the eye of Mo’s older brother, and the invisible racial barriers to Mo’s success as a ballerina turn out to be not so invisible What happens when you discover that being yourself isn’t good enough How do you fight back
Paula Chase explores the complex and emotional issues that affect many young teens in this novel set in the same neighborhood as her acclaimed So Done and Dough Boys. Friendship, family, finding yourself, and standing your ground are the themes of this universal story that is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Renée Watson.
About the Author
Paula Chase is the author of several books for teens. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked as a cheer-leading coach and in public relations for a tech company. She is the co-founder of The Brown Bookshelf, a site designed to increase awareness of African American voices writing for young readers. She is the author of So Done.

Product details
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ HarperCollins US (2 December 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0062965662
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 9780062965660
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 8 – 12 years
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.97 x 3.07 x 20.96 cm

Additional information

Weight 0.800 g
Dimensions 25 × 15 × 5 cm
Book Title

Turning Point

Narrative Type

Fiction

Publisher

Harpercollins Publishers Inc

Original Language

English

Intended Audience

Adults, Ages 9-12, Young Adults

Publication Year

2020

Type

Novel

Format

Hardcover

Language

English

Item Height

210mm

Genre

Children & Young Adults, Drama

Topic

Ballet, Family Life, Friendship

Item Width

140mm

Item Weight

454g

Number of Pages

384 Pages

Condition

Brand new

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.