In Stock

Shtum by Jem Lester (Paperback, 2016)

$31.20

1 in stock

SKU: B593 Category:

Description

Shtum 
by Jem Lester
Paperback – 12 April 2016
Ben Jewell has hit breaking point.
His ten-year-old son, Jonah, has never spoken. So when Ben and Jonah are forced to move in with Ben’s elderly father, three generations of men – one who can’t talk; two who won’t – are thrown together.
As Ben battles single fatherhood, a string of well-meaning social workers and his own demons, he learns some difficult home truths.
Jonah, blissful in his innocence, becomes the prism through which all the complicated strands of personal identity, family history and misunderstanding are finally untangled.
Perfect for fans of David Nicholls, THE SHOCK OF THE FALL and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME.
Book Description
Funny, moving and uplifting, SHTUM is a novel about three generations of a family learning how to get along.
About the Author
Jem Lester was a journalist for nine years and saw the Berlin Wall fall in 1989 – and though there, he denies personal responsibility. He was also the last journalist to interview the legendary Fred Zinnemann, before the director died. He denies responsibility for that too. He taught English and Media studies at secondary schools for nine years. Jem has two children, one of whom is profoundly autistic, and for them he accepts total responsibility. He lives in London with his partner and her two children.
Jem’s first novel, SHTUM, won the 2013 PFD/City University Prize for Fiction.
Product details
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Orion; 1st edition (12 April 2016)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 368 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1409162974
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 9781409162971
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 22.3 x 2.4 x 15.6 cm

Additional information

Weight 0.500 g
Dimensions 28 × 15 × 5 cm
Type

Novel

Narrative Type

Fiction

Original Language

English

Intended Audience

Adults

Book Title

Shtum

Item Height

222mm

Item Width

153mm

Format

Paperback

Language

English

Topic

Books

Publisher

Orion Publishing Co

Publication Year

2016

Genre

Humor

Item Weight

41g

Number of Pages

320 Pages

Condition

Like new

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.