Out of Stock

Men in Black by Various Artists (CD, 1997)


Out of stock


Men in Black [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] by Various Artists (CD, 1997)

The official soundtrack to the ’90s hit movie, MEN IN BLACK featuring Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones. The soundtrack features the movie’s theme song by Will Smith “Men In Black” as well as debuts by the then-unknown Alicia Keys and Destiny’s Child alongside some of the best rap and hip-hop artists of the time.
A little-known fact is that Mariah Carey also appears on this album alongside her longtime friend and backup singer Trey Lorenz in the smooth and sexy ballad “Make You Happy” as an uncredited backup vocalist.

Given the massive box-office success of the original Men in Black, the only real surprise was that it took Hollywood five years to crank out the loopy, CGI-laden sequel. Composer Danny Elfman keeps the original MIB creative team intact, weighing in with a typically energetic orchestral score that dutifully ratchets up the suspense and punctuates the action. But it’s a largely connect-the-dots exercise; aside from the deliciously loungy pair of Austin Powers-savvy bossa novas that bookend his work here (“Worm Lounge #1 (Worms in Black),” “Worm Lounge #2”), there’s a sometimes uncomfortable lack of originality (let alone melodicism) in much of what remains. The tense, workmanlike efficiency works fine with the film, but longtime fans may find this a decidedly McElfman listening experience. Still, the soundtrack ends on an a pair of appropriately goofy/cheesy notes: Tim Blaney’s gravel-voiced Frank the Pug crooning “I Will Survive” with grating canine fervor and the duet of Will Smith and Tra-Knox gettin’ jiggy with the hip-hop/Bond music hybrid “Black Suits Comin’ (Nod Ya Head).” –Jerry McCulley

Tracking List:

  1. Men In Black – Will Smith (3:45)
  2. We Just Wanna Party With You – Snoop Doggy Dogg Featuring JD (4:32)
  3. I’m Feelin’ You – Ginuwine (4:40)
  4. Dah Dee Dah (Sexy Thing) – Alicia Keys ( 4:11)
  5. Just Cruisin – Will Smith ( 3:59)
  6. The ‘Notic – The Roots feat. D’Angelo (5:20)
  7. Make You Happy – Trey Lorenz (4:06)
  8. Escobar ’97 – Nas ( 6)
  9. Erotic City – Emoja (4:34)
  10. Same Ol’ Thing – A Tribe Called Quest (4:27)
  11. Killing Time – Destiny’s Child (5:07)
  12. Waiting For Love – 3T (3:46)
  13. Chanel No. Fever – De La Soul ( 3:23)
  14. Some Cow Fonque (More Tea, Vicar?) – Buckshot LeFonque (5:09)
  15. M.I.B. Main Theme – Danny Elfman (2:58)
  16. M.I.B. Closing Theme – Danny Elfman (2:37)


Very good condition

Additional information

Weight 150 g


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.